Week One

At the end of the first week, I’ve got several pieces in various unfinished states.

Anything Can Happen in a Day

This one is almost there. I want to re-record the bass, kill the repetitive vocals at the end, and see if I can get a better vocal take on the verses. My friend Nathaniel is recording violin parts for it as well. I’m happy with how this is progressing.

Swing for the Next One

Kind of similar to the previous one, but there’s a creepy undertone here that I might coax out a bit more.

Choose

This one’s a little peppier, eh? I hate my vocals and will have to redo them completely. My friend Tim said he wants in on this one, so maybe he can do a better job on guitar and/or backing vocals?

NewRPM

This one’s title should tell you how embryonic it is. But there’s something weirdly cheerful about the song that I want to build on.

The Other Side

I will rewrite these lyrics so that they’re better matched to the rest of the songs. I’d have to redo these vocals anyway because they’re just terrible. My buddy Mark may sing backing vocals if he’s not too swamped this month. This one feels like an actual song.

Project Whatevs

The first few were done enough to fairly call them “demos” but this is more of an “idea.” I don’t know where it’s going at all. I do hear a good melody for it though. Whether I can actually sing said melody remains to be seen. Or heard. You know.

RPM2021g

Ah the cleverly titled “RPM2021g.” I actually kind of love this bass part. Could be a fun one when it’s neatened up.

RPM Jingle Jangle

I don’t know what this is. It sounds like the music playing at a graduation scene in an 80s movie about drugs.

Project 6

Feel the funk y’all

RPM2021d

Definitely the roughest one.

Hootenanny

This I think is just the middle break of a song. Not sure what it is, other than 240 beats per minute and a pain in the ass.

Project9

This one has more in common with the first two tracks. Don’t know if that’s a good or bad thing. Just a feeling like maybe I’m making the same song over and over again.

Well, there we have it so far. See you in a week.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started